FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
We are concerned about the environment, the welfare of animals and the health of our fellow humans. Meat and the meat industry is bad for all three of those things, for which we care deeply for. Having said that, there are plenty of places serving meat and we don’t want to be one of them. The question we ask is why would anyone have meat on the menu?
Most likely. Download our allergens chart for specific details.
Yes, but at your own risk. Our kitchen is not gluten-free so cross-contamination can occur, but we do offer some products that are gluten free* like some of the big burgers, some sauces and the fries. However, we do need to emphasise that the kitchen is not gluten-free so cross-contamination can occur and we do not recommend eating at Lord of the Fries if you are particularly sensitive to gluten. That’s why the * is being used above gluten-free*.
Yes, just ask when you order. Our staff will put the sauce in little takeaway tubs.
Lord of the Fries vegan nuggets are made of soy protein and a whole lot of deliciousness. It’s crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside with a classic crunch, only it’s 100% vegan. Definitely a guilt free snack you’ll love.
We currently have five different patties in our ever-growing menu. Each type of patty has a different set of ingredients from soy to mushrooms and more. We think it would be best to email us with your concerns or check out the nutritional info on specific products in the menu section of the website.
Yes you can, ask when you order and they will put the fries directly into the packaging without any salt.
We don’t have vegan options because we are the vegan option. Everything on the standard menu is now vegan and by the end of March 2018 the entire breakfast menu will be vegan too.
Yes! We have won numerous awards including ‘Best Vegetarian Restaurant’ from the Lifestyle Channel, ‘Best Hot Chips in Melbourne’ from the Herald Sun.
We can but it depends on a number of variables so it’s best to contact us to discuss. Emails us at firstname.lastname@example.org with the details of what you are looking to cater for and where and we’ll get back to you.
No. We started in the van, we had a great time and it led us to opening stores.
We can’t find vegan cheese curds.
Stores become available from time to time, but the way we usually work is by finding a franchisee and then finding an appropriate location for them. If you’d like to enquire about becoming a franchisee then please Apply Here.
Nope, it’s an Australian family owned business that will hopefully, one day, become a chain of Australian stores in America.
Yep, almost all of the stores in the network are franchised stores.
We started as a food van in 2004 and then opened our first shop in November 2005.
We are spreading quickly, best to check out our locations page. Click Here
Hours vary between stores, check locations for specifics. Click Here
Of course! At Lord of the Fries we try to be as inclusive as possible, so kids are definitely more than welcome. There are even highchairs at some of the dine-in stores.
Yep, most of our stores are delivering now. Check out the locations section for specific store info. And please remember that, although we deliver, our fries and other items taste best when freshly cooked and eaten in store.
Absolutely. Many of our stores are only takeaway while only a few have seating, please check out the locations on the website to see which stores have seating.
We accept cash (no $100 notes), Eftpos, Visa and Mastercard. We do not accept Diners or American Express.
The Beyond Burger™ is the world’s first plant-based burger that looks, cooks, and tastes like a fresh beef burger. It has all the juicy, meat deliciousness of a traditional burger, but comes with the upsides of a plant-based meal. The Beyond Burger™ packs 20 g of plant-based protein and has no GMOs, soy or gluten.
Our belief is that the best way to get people to eat less meat is by giving them what they love – in this case, a juicy delicious burger – without so many of the health, sustainability, and animal welfare downsides of a traditional animal-based burger.
Well, we used beets to do that! Amazing, right! We wanted to keep the whole experience of cooking burgers as similar as possible for our flexitarian fans, so we’ve worked very hard to create a burger that changes colour as you cook it just like animal protein.
The primary source of protein in The Beyond Burger™ comes from peas. It’s soy, gluten and GMO free.
While we didn’t design The Beyond Burger™ to “bleed” per se, the beets we use to give the patty a red-meat appearance have led some in the media to remark that the burger “bleeds” beet blood.
The beyond burger patties are made of pea protein. It looks, cooks and tastes like a beef burger but without the environmental and health problems that can come from red meat. Beets is one of the ingredients that give it the colour mimicking the bloodiness of beef.
Our vegan burgers are not made from actual vegetables as it’s made mostly of pea protein isolate, canola oil and refined coconut oil. They can be enjoyed by both vegans and vegetarians. Check out our burger menu for the full ingredients list, nutritional information & allergen information.
Our beyond patty is similar to a beef patty as it contains pretty much the same amounts of calories, fats & protein. If you’re looking for something that’s got the calorie count of lettuce, then this isn’t for you, but in terms of overall health, our vegan burgers don’t give you cholesterol. Check out our burger menu for the full ingredients list, nutritional information & allergen information.
Many veggie burgers are made from vegetables, whole grains, and legumes (like beans or lentils). These ingredients provide fibre and a variety of vitamins and minerals. Some vegetarian burger patties may contain/traces of dairy or egg which makes them not vegan. There are a wide variety of veggie burgers and it all depends on the main ingredients the patty is made from.
The burgers at Lord of the Fries are all vegan-friendly, which means they’re also very vegetarian-friendly. Check out the full ingredients list on each of the different burger patties to see which one you like, we also include the full nutritional & allergen information on each product.
Vegetarian burgers are mostly plant-based and they tend to be a lot healthier for you except for store-bought veggie patties. Some veggie burgers can include a lot of artificial ingredients that make them less healthy than a regular burger. Which is why we include our full ingredients list, nutritional information and allergen information for all our products. The whole Lord of the Fries menu is vegan but still vegetarian-friendly, we guarantee the quality of our burgers are amazing so you don’t need to worry.
At Lord of the Fries, we currently have five different patties in our ever-growing menu – our Original Vegan Burger, Spicy Vegan Burger, Chick’n Vegan Burger, New Guru Vegan Burger, Parma Vegan Burger, and Phish Vegan Burger. Each type of patty has a different set of ingredients, from soy to mushrooms and more. Check out the nutritional information on specific products in the menu section of the website, or if you have any further questions feel free to leave us a message.